Hello: 1 app I will not be using

I do love my iphone and my cloud, they really make it a lot easier to hold on to that thought or that picture (in my mind – I am not a great photographer). I also like to use evernote, because it works beautifully together with those to capture any stray thoughts that might feed into a blog or some other piece of writing some time. But this is one step too far: evernote is showing off a new iphone app they in a moment of inspiration decided to call “hello”. It works like this: 
 
Use case illustration
 
 
“Whenever you meet somebody new, hand them your phone and they can quickly make a profile.” (courtesy of Evernote)
 
Seriously? You expect me to tell someone I have just met: “look, fat chance I will remember you once you are out of sight so please take a moment to create a profile of yourself on my phone. That way I can call you by your name after just the briefest glance at my phone when I next see you. After another look I will even be able to ask after your son/ last project / anything you wish to share.” I might want to add: “Do you mind lending me yours in the meantime so I can catch some news while you’re doing that?” The first problem with this scenario is obvious: I would be perceived as extremely rude by this new person in my life. This might lead to me losing out on a future good friend or a fabulous job opportunity, or my chance to star opposite Daniel Craig (I said “might” didn’t I). Basically, this person would be written out of my life as soon as they’d entered it. The second problem is that I would have to trust this new person, whom I have just insulted, with my beloved phone and all the data it holds on my behalf. If that were me, I would be sorely tempted to sabotage the phone I had just been handed. Sneakily, mind, leaving them with the most charming impression and me with a feeling of glee at the shock they’ll get later.
 
And do you know what the best thing is? It is not that I am getting old. I showed my 13-year old daughter the app description and asked her what she thought of it. She pictured it for a split second, then said “That’s just rude.” And left.
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

